Herbie Hancock V.S.O.P. – Live Under The Sky


Catalog: MOCCD-14000
Format: 2 CD
Original release: 2004
Genre: Jazz
Barcode: 8718627232699

SKU: Z68569 Categories: ,


‘Live Under The Sky’ was recorded LIVE over two nights in Japan. Drummer Tony Williams appears to be the driving motor on stage and brings out the very best in everyone else. Ron Carter turns out some interesting bass vamps while Freddie Hubbard and Wayne Shorter does a solid job on the trumpet and sax respectively. Herbie Hancock of course turns out some stellar performances on the piano as always. This group is essentially the second great Miles Davis Quintet without Miles. The energy of the 10.000 fans enjoying the concerts in the pouring rain clearly affected the musicians and the performances here are stellar. Overall a very high energy concert featuring some of the best musicians of that decade at the peak of their skills.

Additional information




CD 1
1. Opening
2. Eye of the Hurricane
3. Tear Drop
4. Domo
5. Para Oriente
6. Pee Wee
7. One of Another Kind
8. Fragile

CD 2
1. Opening (Alternate Version)
2. Eye of the Hurricane
3. Tear Drop (Alternate Version)
4. Domo (Alternate Version)
5. Para Oriente (Alternate Version)
6. Pee Wee (Alternate Version)
7. One of Another Kind (Alternate Version)
8. Fragile (Alternate Version)
9. Stella by Starlight
10. On Green Dolphin Street

You may also like…