James Brown Sex Machine


Catalog: MOCCD-14099
Format: 1 CD
Original release: 1970
Genre: Soul
Barcode: 0600753942734

SKU: 2D4042 Categories: ,


That James Brown is the most important figure in black music is beyond dispute. ‘Sex Machine’ is often considered to be one of the greatest and most important funk records of all time, and arguably the high point of Brown‘s creative heyday from 1967 to 1971. The first five tracks of this album are studio recordings with added reverberation and audience noise. The last ten tracks are recorded live at the Bell Auditorium in Augusta, GA (except track 8). This recordings included “Soul Power”, “Super Bad”, “Talkin’ Loud And Sayin’ Nothing” and, above all, “(Get Up I Feel Like Being a) Sex Machine” (feat. Bobby Byrd), which finds in this ‘fake live cover’ its definitive version; the funkiest 10 minutes in the history of music!

Additional information




1. Get Up I Feel Like Being A Sex Machine
2. Brother Rap (Parts I & Ii)
3. Bewildered
4. I Got The Feelin’
5. Give It Up Or Turn It Loose
6. I Don’t Want Nobody To Give Me Nothing (Open Up The Door I’ll Get It Myself)
7. Licking Stick – Licking Stick
8. Lowdown Popcorn
9. Spinning Wheel
10. If I Ruled The World
11. There Was A Time
12. It’ A Man’s Man’s Man’s World
13. Please, Please, Please
14. I Can’t Stand Myself (When You Touch Me)
15. Mother Popcorn

You may also like…