Paul Desmond Complete RCA Albums Collection


Catalog:  MOCCD-14223
Format:  6 CD
Original release:  2011
Genre:  Jazz
Barcode: 8718627235249

Categories: ,


As the featured alto saxophonist in the Dave Brubeck quartet, Paul Desmond was a central figure in the most commercially successful jazz ensemble of the time. As the sole horn in the group he attracted considerable critical and public acclaim for his supremely lyrical, sublimely melodic playing. But even a beloved sideman has to step into the full glare of the spotlight at times. The 1961 ‘Desmond Blue’ matched the saxophonist with a string orchestra and outstanding arrangements by Bob Prince for a set of exquisitely rendered classics including a memorable “My Funny Valentine”. Five of the six albums feature melodic guitar giant Jim Hall, his ideal musical partner. Paul Desmond was a master at Bossa Nova, heard here on both the ‘Bossa Antigua’ and ‘Take Ten’ albums.

Additional information




CD1: “Desmond Blue”

  1. My Funny Valentine
  2. Desmond Blue
  3. Then I’ll Be Tired Of You
  4. I’ve Got You Under My Skin
  5. Late Lament
  6. I Should Care
  7. Like Someone In Love
  8. Ill Wind
  9. Body And Soul
  10. Advise And Consent
  11. Autumn Leaves
  12. Imagination
  13. Autumn Leaves (Alternate Take)
  14. Autumn Leaves (Alternate Take)
  15. Imagination (Alternate Take)
  16. Advise And Consent (Alternate Take)

CD2: Take Ten”

  1. Take Ten
  2. El Prince
  3. Alone Together
  4. Embarcadero
  5. The Theme From Black Orpheus (Manha de Carnaval)
  6. Nancy (With The Laughing Face)
  7. Samba De Orfeo
  8. The One I Love Belongs To Somebody Else
  9. Out Of Nowhere
  10. Embarcadero (Alternate Version)
  11. El Prince (Alternate Take)

CD3: “Bossa Antigua”   

  1. Bossa Antigua
  2. The Night Has A Thousand Eyes
  3. O Gato
  4. Samba Cantina
  5. Curaçao Doloroso
  6. A Ship Without A Sail
  7. Alianca
  8. The Girl From East 9th Street
  9. The Night Has A Thousands Eyes (Alternate Version)
  10. Samba Cepeda
  11. O Gato (Alternate Version)

CD4:  “Glad To Be Unhappy”

  1. Glad To Be Unhappy
  2. Poor Butterfly
  3. A Stranger In Town
  4. A Taste Of Honey
  5. Any Other Time
  6. Hi-Lili, Hi-Lo
  7. Angel Eyes
  8. By The River St. Marie
  9. All Across The City
  10. All Through The Night

CD5: “Easy Living”

  1. When Joanna Loved Me
  2. That Old Feeling
  3. Polka Dots And Moonbeams
  4. Here’s That Rainy Day
  5. Easy Living
  6. I’ve Grown Accustomed To Her Face
  7. Bewitched
  8. Blues For Fun
  9. Rude Old Man
  10. Polka Dots And Moonbeams (Alternate Version)
  11. Bewitched (Alternate Take)

CD6: “Two Of A Mind”

  1. All The Things You Are
  2. Stardust
  3. Two Of A Mind
  4. Blight Of The Fumble Bee
  5. The Way You Look Tonight
  6. Out Of Nowhere
  7. Easy Living
  8. All The Things You Are (Alternate Take)
  9. The Way You Look Tonight (Alternate Take)
  10. Untitled Blues Waltz
  11. Untitled Blues Waltz

You may also like…