Screamin’ Jay Hawkins Cow Fingers & Mosquito Pie


Catalog: MOCCD-14004
Format: 1 CD
Original release: 1991
Genre: Blues
Barcode: 8718627232712

SKU: Z68707 Categories: ,


From the original and alternate takes of “I Put A Spell On You” to the final screams of “Alligator Wine,” this is indeed a stunning trip through the mad mind of blues shouter Screamin’ Jay Hawkins. That voice of his, which could shriek, gargle, and bottom out in a baritone that is simply astonishing! This album contains both versions of “I Put A Spell on You”, the crazier one is near the beginning. However, Jay was so much more than his one signature song. You have the equally spooky “There’s Something Wrong With You”, “Frenzy”, and the positively unhinged “Alligator Wine”, a song that is the very definition of Swamp Blues. On this album you find the Okeh sessions plus all the singles and alternate takes.

Additional information




1. Little Demon
2. You Ain’tT Foolin’ Me
3. I Put A Spell On You
4. You Made Me Love You (I Didn’t Want To Do It)
5. Yellow Coat
6. Hong Kong
7. There’s Something Wrong With You
8. I Love Paris
9. Orange Colored Sky
10. Alligator Wine
11. Darling, Please Forgive Me
12. Take Me Back To My Boots And Saddle
13. Temptation
14. Frenzy
15. Person To Person
16. Little Demon
17. I Put A Spell On You
18. There’s Something Wrong With You
19. Alligator Wine