Angie Stone Mahogany Soul


Catalog: MOCCD-13998
Format: 1 CD
Original release: 2001
Genre: Soul
Barcode: 8718627232682

SKU: Z47812 Categories: ,


‘Mahogany Soul’ perfectly describes the rich, deep, and lived-in music Angie Stone makes. This veteran singer/songwriter, who was one-third of rap trio ‘Sequence’, led acid-jazz combo ‘Vertical Hold’, and she had a major hand in creating D’Angelo’s ‘Brown Sugar’ album. Just as India Arie delivers in Acoustic Soul, so does Ms. Stone invoke memories of Marvin Gaye and Donny Hathaway, so smooth, so rich, so velvet. “The Ingredients Of Love” with Musiq Soulchild is a tight song and a nice collaboration between Neo Soul artists and “Wish I Didn’t Miss You”, which takes the beat from The O’ Jays’ “Backstabbers” and Angie ripping it with her vocals. Angie Stone has finally started to gain the recognition she has deserved for so long.

Additional information




1. Soul Insurance
2. Brotha
3. Pissed Off
4. More Than A Woman (Duet with Calvin)
5. Snowflakes
6. Wish I Didn’t Miss You
7. Easier Said Than Done
8. Bottles & Cans
9. The Ingredients Of Love (Duet with Music Soulchild)
10. What U Dyin’ For
11. Makings Of You (Interlude)
12. Mad Issues
13. If It Wasn’t child)
14. 20 Dollars
15. Life Goes On
16. The Heat (Outro)
17. Time Of The Month (Bonus Track)

You may also like…