Howlin’ Wolf London Howlin’ Wolf Sessions


Catalog: MOCCD-13977
Format: 2 CD
Original release: 1971
Genre: Blues
Barcode: 0600753909508

SKU: Z45181 Category:


With a booming voice and imposing physical presence, Chester Burnett a.k.a. Howlin’ Wolf is one of the best-known Chicago blues artists. The London Sessions was one of the series of recordings produced by Marshall Chess, nephew of Phil Chess, who, with his brother Leonard, started Chess Records. Four sessions recorded in May 1970 with Eric Clapton and Hubert Sumlin on guitars, Steve Winwood on piano, the Rolling Stones’ rhythm section ( Bill Wyman and Charlie Watts) – and a quasi-Beatles’ rhythm section chipping in (!) (Klaus Voormann with an uncredited Ringo Starr) playing the blues and the 19 year old Jeffrey Carp, (who died shortly after this session) were among those appearing on the album. The ‘London Sessions’ is essential blues.

Additional information




CD 1
The Original Album – The Original Mix
1. Rockin’ Daddy
2. I Ain’t Superstitious
3. Sittin’ On Top Of The World
4. Worried About My Baby
5. What A Woman!
6. Poor Boy
7. Built For Comfort
8. Who’s Been Talking?
9. The Red Rooster (False Start And Dialog)
10. The Red Rooster
11. Do The Do
12. Highway 49
13. Wang Dang Doodle
Bonus Tracks From London Revisited
14 Goin’ Down Slow
15 Killing Floor
16 I Want To Have A Word With You

CD 2
Previously Unreleased Bonus Tracks
1. Worried About My Baby
2. The Red Rooster
3. What A Woman! (A/K/A Commit A Crime)
4. Who’s Been Talking
5. Worried About My Baby
6. I Ain’t Superstitious
7. Highway 49
8. Do The Do
9. Poor Boy
10. I Ain’t Superstitious
11. What A Woman (A/K/A Commit A Crime)
12. Rockin’ Daddy

You may also like…