Joe South Joe South


Catalog: MOCCD13700
Format: 1 CD
Original release: 1971
Genre: Rock
Barcode: 0600753711378

SKU: X19727 Category:


Joe South was an American singer-songwriter, guitarist, and record producer. South won the Grammy Award for Song of the Year in 1970 for “Games People Play” (Introspect album) and was again nominated for the award in 1972 for “Rose Garden”. Artists who have recorded South-penned songs include Jerry Lee Lewis, Johnny Cash, The Georgia Satellites Hank Williams Jr., and Ike & Tina Turner. Joe South was also a prominent sideman, playing guitar on Tommy Roe‘s “Sheila”, Bob Dylan‘s Blonde on Blonde album, and the classic tremolo intro on Aretha Franklin‘s “Chain of Fools”. And South played electric guitar on Simon & Garfunkel‘s second album, Sounds of Silence.

Additional information




1. High On A Hilltop
2. Birds Of A Feather
3. For The Love Of A Woman
4. Rose Garden
5. Yo Yo
6. Fool Me
7. How Can I Unlove You
8. You Need Me
9. She’s Almost You
10. Devil May Care

You may also like…