Modern English Stop Start


Catalog: MOCCD-14241
Format: 1 CD
Original release: 1986
Genre: Pop
Barcode: 8718627235386

SKU: 2D6421 Categories: ,


Stop Start’ is the fourth studio album by the new wave/post-punk band from Colchester, England, Modern English formed by Robbie Grey (vocals), Gary McDowell (guitar, vocals), and Michael Conroy (bass, vocals). With the release of ‘Stop Start’ they ended their ‘new wave’ period leaving the 4AD label in 1986 and with an upgraded their sound they moved to the Sire label to release their final album ‘Stop Start’. There is a strong percussion feel to the ‘Stop Start ‘ album, especially on the “Night Train” and the loner-themed “I Don’t Know The Answer”. This is arguably one of the best albums of the 80s, with songs like “Ink And Paper”, “The Border”, and the title track “Start Stop / Stop Start.”

Additional information




1. The Border
2. Ink And Paper
3. Night Train
4. I Don’t Know The Answer
5. Love Breaks Down
6. Breaking Away
7. The Greatest Show
8. Love Forever
9. Start Stop / Stop Start

You may also like…